Keibo Oiwa
(Japanese pen Name:Tsuji Shin'ichi)

is a cultural anthropologist, author, environmentalist, and public speaker. He lived in North America for fifteen years and holds a ph.D. in Anthropology from Cornel University. The founder of the Sloth Club, Japan's leading "Slow Life" environmental group, he is in frequent demand for lecture and consultation throughout in Japan.

Oiwa hosts a monthly interview series for Sotokoto (Japan's leading ecology and lifestyle magazine), and has written or co-written four books in English, ten in Japanese and translated three books from English to Japanese. His professional interets are broad: the environment, food culture, socially responsible business, grassroots activism, Harlem and African American culture (the subject of two Japanese books), and Jews, Japanese and Native Canadians. His friendship and collaboration with David Suzuki, renowned Candian science broadcaster and host of CBC's The Nature of Thigs, has resulted in The Japan We Never Knew - A Journey of Discovery (published in the United States as The Other Japan). In Japan, he is widely known as the author of the influencial 2001 book Slow Is Beautiful, which is acclaimed to be a bible of Japan's Slow Movement, eco-cultural activism towards sustainable lifesyle. Oiwa's book Stone Voices:Wartime Writing of Japnese Issei (Vehicle Press) won the 1992 Canada-Japan Book Award. He lives in Yokohama with his family and teaches International Studies at Meiji Gakuin Univeristy.

Japan Contact Information:
Stone Voices:Wartime Writings ofJapaneseCanadian Issei
Vehicle Press 2002
Rowing the Eternal Sea:The Story of a Minamata Fisherman
Narrated by Ogata Masato
Rowman&Litelfield 2001
Other Japan(also know as The Japane We Never Knew:A Journey of Discovery)
with David Suzuki
Fulcrum Publishing 1999
Slow Is Beautiful
Heibon-sha 1996
(Japanese and Korean)
Peace Rosoku-Tsuji Shin'ichi in Dialogues
Yukkuri-do 2003
(Japanese Only)
Slow Business
Yukkuri-do 2004
(Japanese Only)
100 Keywords for "Slow Life"
Koubun-do 2003
(Japanese Only)
As Long As There's Black Music :Essays on African American Music Culture
Seokyu-sha 1995
(Japanese Only)
Slow Epicurian Manifesto
Shueisha 2004
(japanese only)
what I can do-the way to cool down the earth
Yukkurido 2005
one drop by hummingbird
Kobunsya 2005
(japanese only)
slow is beautiful
chikuma syobo 2006
(Japanese only)